10 European Countries Call on Israel to Stop Demolishing Palestinian Homes

JABAR EKSPRES – A total of 10 European countries have called on Israel to stop its policy of evicting and confiscating Palestinian homes in the occupied West Bank.

The request was mentioned in a joint statement issued by the consulates general of Belgium, France, Italy, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Ireland and the European Union Representative Office in the West Bank and Gaza.

The statement called on Israel, the occupying power, to halt seizures and evictions and grant unhindered access to humanitarian organizations in the occupied territories of the West Bank including East Jerusalem.

It also urged Tel Aviv to “return or compensate for all humanitarian goods funded by the donor consortium,” referring to Israel’s demolition of buildings funded by the European Union since 2015, estimated at 1.29 million euros.

The 10 countries “strongly condemn the recent eviction of a donor-funded school in Jubbet Adh Dhib” and express “deep concern about the threatened eviction of 57 schools in the West Bank.”

Israel widely uses the pretext of lack of construction permits to evict Palestinian homes, especially in Area C, which is under Israeli control.

Under the 1995 Oslo Accords between Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, is divided into three, namely Areas A, B, and C.

Read more: PLN has Provided 616 SPKLUs for Electric Vehicles

Berita Terkait

Tinggalkan Balasan